Article by Delta Driving School
Even though the recreational use of cannabis was legalized in California in January 2018, driving under the influence of marijuana is a crime. Thus, to clarify what it means to drive under the influence of marijuana, the following three factors must be met:
The person must be driving the vehicle
The person must be under the influence of the drug
The person must demonstrate mental or physical impairment that hinders the ability to operate the vehicle
Penalties for marijuana-related DUIs, just as with alcohol-related DUIs will include jail time, suspension of your driver’s license, participation in DUI classes (that you will pay for), and thousands of dollars in fines, not to mention attorney’s fees. And all of this is just for a first offense.
Most cases of driving under the influence of marijuana are considered misdemeanors, but there are cases where this can be treated as a felony. The most common penalties if no one was hurt include:
Marijuana DUI 1st Offense – Three days to six months in jail, fines, license suspension for up to four months, and three months of mandatory DUI classes.
Marijuana DUI 2nd Offense – Four days to one year in jail, significant fines, license suspension for up to two years, and 18-30 months of mandatory DUI classes.
Marijuana DUI 3rd Offense – Six months to one year in jail, significant fines, license suspension for up to three years, and 30 months of mandatory DUI classes.
DUIs of any kind will count against you as an offense, so if you have a previous alcohol-related offense, the marijuana-related offense will be the next offense. Fines and legal fees related to a marijuana DUI can easily exceed $10,000, even for a first offense.
About the Author: This article is courtesy of Delta Driving School. They are a Driving School in La Canada, Glendale, Eagle Rock and La Crescenta in Southern California.